Home Planning and building Built Heritage Aberdeenshire Architectural and Landscape Design Awards 2023 – Aberdeenshire Council

Celebrating innovative and sustainable design principles, the creation of new communities, the sensitive adaptation of existing buildings and the imaginative use of materials in both residential and commercial developments across Aberdeenshire.
The 13th biennial Aberdeenshire Architectural and Landscape Design Awards (AALDA) 2023 is now complete, and we are pleased to be able to showcase our shortlisted projects, winning schemes, category winners and the overall Ian Shepherd Award winner.
We would like to thank everyone who has taken time to make a submission into 2023’s scheme. We would also like to thank our sponsors and our judges for providing their time throughout the process.
Please see the opening speech from the Deputy Provost of Aberdeenshire, Councillor Ron McKail, as he officially launces the AALDA 2023 online showcase.
The council introduced this award to the overall winner in memorial to the former principal archaeologist for the local authority who sadly passed away in May 2009.
Stone building with paved path, doors and windows
The judges chose The Vinery as their overall winner and recipient of the Ian Shepherd Award due to restoration of the buildings being successfully achieved by restoring the structures which stood on the site previously.
Find out more about The Vinery.
We are extremely grateful to our 2023 sponsors, Mabbett LTD and CMD Stone. Without them, we would not have been able to host the AALDA 2023.
Mabbett LTD are sponsoring the Landscape and Biodiversity Enhancement category.
CMD Stone are sponsoring the Conservation and Building Adaptation category.
Mabbett LTD logoCMD Stone Specialists logo
Find out about the business and community enterprise category. 
Find out about the conservation and building adaptation category. 
Find out about the innovative single house design (including extensions) category. 
Find out about the landscape and biodiversity enhancement category. 
Find out about the building communities for the future category. 
Find out about the strategies for sustainable living category and how to enter. 
View winners and highlighted projects from previous years:
from mountain to sea… the very best of Scotland!